Red face after the 10 km Bridge to Brisbane event

Despite attending a wedding last night, this morning I was up at 5 am, NOT to watch Doctor Who on ABC iView but to participate in the Bridge to Brisbane 10 km event.

I was the girl who failed PE, who refused to run or swim in carnivals, who did no more than the physical activity absolutely required in high school. Last year, 4 days before my 30th birthday, Aaron came home and announced that we were going for a run.  That day, I went 2.98 km in 30’ and 57”.  That’s an average pace of 10’24” and I thought I was going to vomit.  It was horrible, and I was horribly unfit.

On the 18 March I ran the Twilight Running Festival 10 km at the University of Queensland, finishing in 1:15:38, average pace just a little over 7’30” / km. That was my first running event and I was very happy with my time.

Today I ran the 10 km in 1:09:19. I raised $625.00 for Oxfam Australia in the process. My next event is the Twilight Bay Run on 22 September. Wish me luck!

