Finish my thesis

PHD Comics: Finished Thesis
PHD Comics: Finished Thesis

Well, this one is pretty darn obvious. I’d like to have a final draft to my supervisors by Christmas 2014. If at all possible, I’d like to be able to hit the “submit” button to send to reviewers, but that might be a bit too optimistic. Still a goal though. I’m feeling quite motivated at the moment, so I need to sustain that for as long as possible.

Brew a butterbeer

Aaron in the Beershed
Aaron in the Beershed

Aaron and I have been experimenting with home brewing and expect to go further this year now that we’ve invested in a fermenting fridge and thermostat. We’ve worked out I prefer lagers to ales although the likelihood of drinking either is generally pretty slim. However, inspired by Harry Potter I’d like to attempt to brew a butterbeer, which I expect to have vanilla and butterscotch overtones and to be fairly creamy. I’m researching potential recipes now.

Complete a half-marathon

I’m registered for my first ever attempt on Sunday 23 March at the Twilight Running Event at St Lucia. I have Nike+ all programmed and ready to coach me through a twelve week training program. I do expect to struggle though; if you feel like giving me any encouragement that would be so helpful!

Zombies, Run! will also keep me going. Hopefully Season Three will be released soon. I highly recommend this app to any reluctant runners, or those who like to be entertained while running! It is a whole lot of fun; well worth the ~$8 it cost. The game puts you, Runner 5, on a series of missions for the local township, Abel, which was established after the zombiepocalypse. Complete missions, collect items, run from zombies, all to your own music interspersed with radio transmissions from Abel base operator Sam Yao. So glad I found this game!

Zombies, Run! gives me the feels, okay?
Zombies, Run! gives me the feels, okay?

Cook new things

The Bookery Cook
The Bookery Cook

My sister-in-law, Marnie, gave me a new cookbook for Christmas, The Bookery Cook. The recipes look to be just a little ahead of my level and so I’d like to try and cook some new recipes from it and other sources over the year. Feel free to recommend me a recipe if you have one! I’m a bit of a beginner cook and I don’t have much pantry space so I tend to steer away from anything complicated or demanding too much in the way of obscure or expensive ingredients.

This goal also serves a secondary purpose: eat out less.

What are your goals for 2014?
